Moobius Mooroboros

Inspired by John Barth’s Frame-Tale, and not being one to shy away from a good pun, I was seized by an idea for a nerdy craft project. Too much exposition will ruin it, so with apologies to Barth and the majestic Bos primigenius, whom I have twice now grotesquely distorted, I present to you Spherical Cow‘s first craft project, Moobius Mooroboros:

 

Part 1

Part 2

Print these two parts back-back on the same piece of paper, and cut out. Adhere the two ends together giving the strip a half twist. If done correctly you should achieve something like the following:

 

The Graceful Moobius Mooroboros

However, for those scared of scissors (or cows) you can simulate the experience of owning your own Moobius by clicking HERE (and no, the link is not broken).

For the Creator conceived that a being which was self-sufficient would be far more excellent than one which lacked anything; and, as he had no need to take anything or defend himself against any one, the Creator did not think it necessary to bestow upon him hands: nor had he any need of feet, nor of the whole apparatus of walking; but the movement suited to his spherical form was assigned to him, being of all the seven that which is most appropriate to mind and intelligence; and he was made to move in the same manner and on the same spot, within his own limits revolving in a circle. All the other six motions were taken away from him, and he was made not to partake of their deviations. And as this circular movement required no feet, the universe was created without legs and without feet. – Plato, Timaeus

About Webster

Transitionally, I’m a math student and tutor en route to becoming a math professor. Permanently, I’m a mathematics enthusiast. I study mathematics professionally, and as a leisure activity. At the time of writing this, I’m a generalist. I have let to reach the depth of understanding that requires specialization. Though I eagerly await that time, I do enjoy the ‘now’ and find there is bountiful food for thought at any level.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Moobius Mooroboros

  1. Annabelle says:

    I’m obsessed with these posts.

  2. Pingback: Vampire Numbers | Spherical Cow

  3. Lalit Sharma says:

    Have just started reading your posts
    And you have a dedicated follower from now on 🙂

  4. Webster says:

    Lalit, thank you for the comment. It is a great encouragement. I’m sorry I didn’t reply earlier, but I’ve been away. It’s great to hear positive feedback. It really makes me enthusiastic to write a new post. I’m currently working on it, hopefully I can have it up within a week. Thanks again!

  5. iulia says:

    these posts are great !!! keep working on it

Leave a Reply

